Platform Building 104: Brainstorm Your Goals

Janalyn Voigt continues the series on Platform Building.

 

 

My Mark

I’ve never met them,

                                                      These silent strangers.                                                 

They are to me but

A name on a stone –

Or no name at all,

Just a depression,

A mound in the earth,

Unmarked.

 

They lived before me

In a younger world –

Real people sighing

Through life

Before I took on

Flesh and breath –

Gone now,

Unremarked.

 

It doesn’t seem fair.

They might never

Have existed at all –

For good or ill,

It all ended here,

On this windy hill –

Forlorn,

Forgotten.

 

I cannot know them,

I who am living.

God alone has

Decided their fate.

I walk from the place

And leave them behind.

I must make a mark

Not written on stone.

 © 2009 by Janalyn Voigt 

I once attended the funeral of Marian, a dear woman who befriended me at a low point in my life. As one of the choir she’d requested to sing at her service, I sat on the platform looking out over those who came to honor Marian’s memory. Through my tears, I couldn’t help but smile, for so large a crowd gathered that there were those who wound up having to stand in the back of the church. Later, a microphone made its rounds as many told how Marian had touched them with her life. A thought struck me then. Who would come to my funeral because they couldn’t keep away? Who would testify of my impact on their lives? Who? I’d never given thought to such questions. Now they were all I could think about.

In her death, Marian showed me how to live.

Obscurity. We all fear it. We want to matter, to make a difference with our lives – to make our mark. Here’s the good news – God wants just that for us too. It’s simply a matter of identifying what that mark will be. If we seek Him, He will show us our purposes. Once we identify how we will make our mark, we then need to bring it all home, out of the abstract and into the practical.

Homework

This week brainstorm and set your writing goals, drawing them from your purposes in life. How will you support those writing goals and enable them to reach others? Don’t feel like you have to know everything all at once. Just start with what you do know to do and the rest will follow. For now, ignore that inner voice that tells you what you can’t do. Don’t look at your limitations right now. Remember, brainstorming your goals is only the first step. Next time we’ll review the process of goal setting and measure our goals against reality, but first we get to dream big.

This post first appeared on Author Haven,  November 16, 2009Used by kind permission.

Janalyn writes adventures kissed by romance in the fantasy and historical fiction genres. 

DAWNSINGER, book one of her TALES OF FAERAVEN trilogy, will release with Port Yonder press. Her publication credits include Focus on the Family, Scripture Press and Pentecostal Evangel. Janalyn is affiliated with ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) and NCWA (Northwest Christian Writers Association).  Visit her website at http://janalynvoigt.com/

Leave a Reply

