Attitude is Everything

Judy Bodmer offers wonderful advice to NCWA. See end of post for a link to her NCWA conference workshop.

I worked with a writer many years ago who sent an article off to a major publication and it was accepted. We celebrated her good fortune because this was a big break in her writing career. However, when the article appeared, her precious words had been reduced to a paragraph. She was so angry and hurt, she stopped writing.

I worked with a writer a few years ago who sent an article off to a major publication and it was accepted. We celebrated her good fortune because this was a big break in her writing career. However, when the article appeared, her precious words had been reduced to a paragraph. She was disconcerted—for a few moments, but then said, “Fine. At least they paid me and gave me credit. And this will look great on my list of credentials.” She took this break and parlayed it into a book contract a couple of years later.

Which person would you like to be?

FOR WRITERS
I have a rule: When I receive a rejection, I try to put my article or story in the mail within 24 hours. This turns those ugly thoughts of wanting to give up, being sure I must have made a mistake to think I could write, and worrying that I’m wasting my time into hope. Finding another magazine or publishing house can be hard when you’re feeling low, so when you first develop your idea, make a list of at least three places that could be possible markets and put them with your article or story. This way, when the first house rejects you, you already have another place already scoped out.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This post first appeared  July 25, 2010 on Write to Inspire. Used by kind permission.

Judy will teach a workshop at NCWA’s Renewal Conference in May and has been a member of NCWA since 2006.

She is the author of When Love Dies: How to Save a Hopeless Marriage (Word 1999) and What’s in the Bible for Mothers (Bethany House 2007), and contributed to The Write Start: Practical Advice for Successful Writing (Pleasant Word 2005). Her articles have appeared in Reader’s Digest, Chicken Soup for the Mother’s Soul, Moody Magazine, Today’s Christian Woman, Marriage Partnership, and numerous others.

She’s a mentor for Jerry Jenkins’ Christian Writers Guild and director of the Northwest Christian Writers Renewal. She speaks nationally on topics as varied as marriage, divorce, parenting, and writing. She has been a guest on nationally syndicated radio shows and local television programs.She is a freelance copy editor for Revell/Baker Books, AMG, Mission City Press, Hendrickson, and WinePress. She has been married to Larry Bodmer since 1969 and they are finally the proud grandparents of Drew who will be one in May.

Visit her website: Writing to Inspire and her blog: Write to Inspire.

4 thoughts on “Attitude is Everything

  1. I love your wise advice, Judy. I remember the first time I met you at the LFP library when I was a brand new writer. I felt very unsure about my new writing role, and you encouraged me. Thank you for your willingness to continually help writers in many ways, including directing wonderful conferences. You’re a blessing. (aka Grandma Tea)

    Like

  2. Definitely the 2nd one! I know, for me, keeping my eyes fixed on the One I’m writing for, helps me deal with rejection. If I’ve prayed and asked that the book be placed with the right house, and then I get a rejection, I can take that as a, “this isn’t the right house at this time.”

    Still, it almost always takes me a day or so to bounce back afterwards. But pressing on is the only option.

    Good post, Judy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

