Platform Building 212: Promoting With a Facebook Page

Janalyn Voigt continues her series on Platform Building.

What does it take to get a Facebook Page up and running? What does a person do with one anyway? And, for that matter, do you even need one?

Some writers decide a blog and/or website are enough to maintain, but recent changes make having a Facebook Page worth looking into. You can now comment as your Page directly on other Facebook Pages and even view updates from other Pages in a stream.

At my editor’s request, I started a Facebook Page for my Tales of Faeraven trilogy. She felt having a Page for my project was an important promotional tool, so I set up shop. I invited my friends and followers directly and through widgets on my blogs and web site. I also linked to my Facebook Page from various online signatures and from my book video on YouTube.

Having a Facebook Page gives people who become interested in DawnSinger a place to connect on Facebook, which is where many of them gather. If my Tales of Faeraven Page didn’t exist, I might capture interest briefly through my pre-publication efforts, but that’s as far as it would probably go. A Facebook Page is one avenue that allows me to capture, prior to its release, my book’s audience. Now, not all of them will buy my book, but some of them might. Besides collecting a reader base, I gain demographics which help me know the gender and ages of those interested in Tales of Faeraven.

I don’t suggest you use Facebook as your main site however, for reasons I explain in Should You Just Forget About Driving Traffic to Your Web Site? (5 Things You Should Know). In fact, the best approach is to send people to your web site from your Page, where you can sign them up for your email list.

I also have a Janalyn Voigt Facebook Page, which I’m slowly building. It made sense at this stage in my career to promote my trilogy first and myself second. Now, if I were an author with five series out, it would become cumbersome to maintain a Page for each (and I probably wouldn’t need them).

You can make a Facebook Page by going to Create a Page.  “Author” is under Artist, Band or Public Figure. “Book” is under Entertainment.

Homework

Determine if and when you will use a Facebook Page for yourself as an author and/or for a specific project. If the time is now, get yours in shape and publish it this week or schedule a completion date for this task. Brainstorm for ways you will provide content of interest to those who “Like” your Page. “Website” is under Brand or Product.

What are your thoughts on having a Facebook Page for yourself and/or your work?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This post appeared April 13, 2010 on Author Haven. Used by kind permission.

Janalyn Voigt writes  novel books.

“Flower of Life” by Janalyn Voigt, in THE BOOK OF SYLVARI, Summer 2011.

DAWNSINGER, book one of her TALES OF FAERAVEN trilogy, will release with Port Yonder press in Autumn 2011.

Other publication credits include Focus on the Family, Scripture Press and Pentecostal Evangel. Janalyn is affiliated with ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) and has been a NCWA member since 2008.  Visit her website.

3 thoughts on “Platform Building 212: Promoting With a Facebook Page

  1. Leona, I agree about taking advantage of all avenues to promote yourself, with a proviso. Assess your time limitations honestly but with faith, prioritize your online sources by their importance to your potential audience, and draw a line for yourself. As far as an online presence goes, it’s best to go deep before you go wide.

    Having said that, Facebook, with over 5 million users, should take a high priority.

    Like

  2. An agent at this year’s Northwest Christian Writers Renewal took me to task for not being on Facebook every day. She told me that as soon as an editor receives a proposal from an author, they look you up to see how active you are. Made me rethink my attitude.

    Like

Leave a Reply

