NaNoWriMo is Coming!

Amy Letinsky shares her adventure into the fast paced NaNoWriMo.

A couple years ago, I became a novelist over the course of one month.

Each year, in November, hundreds of thousands of wannabe novelists, like myself, set a goal to write a 50,000 word novel during the month.  It’s called NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), and it’s a great excuse to write that book you’ve always wanted to write.

I sat down each day with my word count goal and kept writing until I reached that goal, sometimes over if I was in a groove (I made a dorky Excel file to track my progress, which I’ll gladly share with anyone who wants it).  And at the end of the month, I had my novel’s first draft written.

Let’s not discuss the quality of that first draft, nor the amount of editing that I’ve done on it since.  Instead, let’s focus on the sense of accomplishment I got at the end of that month, uploading my manuscript to the website and becoming verified as a bone-fide novelist.

It’s that time of year again, when the enthusiastic novelists commit to a solid month of writing.  You too can join the fun by setting up your own NaNoWriMo account at the site.  You’ll get your own website to log your process and show all your friends.

And if you join, let us cheer you on! Post a link to your NaNoWriMo page here in the comments, join a  NaNoWriMo discussion on our LinkedIn page, or network with other NCWA NaNoWriMo writers on our Facebook page.  We’re excited to see your progress and help you reach your novel writing goal!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amy Letinsky writes a little of everything, mostly for her blog  and for her online classes, where she teaches English composition and literature to college students across the country.

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo is Coming!

  1. I did Nanowrimo before, and while I didn’t hit the 50,000-word mark, I did write more words in one month than I’ve ever done before or since (about 25,000 words), and I had a great time. It was fun to get encouraging emails in my inbox from famous writers–all part of the program.

    Another awesome, seldom-advertised, part of the program is their children’s writing program. KIds can set their own goals and use the wonderful materials provided to get going on their own stories. My daughter did it with me, but parts of the workbook could also be used in a classroom.

    Like

  2. I’m not sure I can commit to this program but it is enticing as I am writing a novel s l o w l y. I have written three chapters already and this may be a good way to finish the novel, then begin the editing process. How many pages per day does this entail? I would guess roughly 10 pages but then it could be more. This is such an exciting proposition and will read more about the NaNoWriMo methodology.

    Like

  3. Kathy,

    If you’re having a hard time keeping at it, or going fast enough, NaNoWriMo can certainly help.

    I figured out the page count by counting the words on a few of my typical pages. I write in single spaced, 12 point font, and get about 500 words a page. So, I figured 2000 words a day, for my schedule, which means about 4 pages.

    But it’s different for everyone.

    Like

  4. I’ve always dreamed of writing that romance novel. Since my time is currently committed to finishing and marketing my current book, I won’t be able to complete 50,000 new words this month. But, this is a great way to get enough momentum to keep going when my schedule opens up. Thanks for sharing Amy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

