You Have a Story to Tell

NCWA welcomes Gabe Murfitt! Gabe will be speaking at NCWA’s February 6th meeting.

I’ve been speaking to audiences young and old since I was in the seventh grade. I share my encouraging C.L.E.A.R. message at schools, businesses, churches and community organizations. I’ve learned to tell a good story and I understand the importance of capturing and maintaining the audience’s attention.

Writing my speeches is not my favorite part of the process. It feels limiting to write out every word. I prefer to write a short outline and let it flow based on my gut feel when I’m in front of the audience.

In the writing world, I’d be considered a “fly by the seat of my pants” kind of writer as compared to one who follows a detailed outline. I figure, as long as you get the story told in an interesting manner, the method of writing it doesn’t matter as long as I’m changing lives along the way.

When I set out to write my life message in a book, I realized I needed help. I teamed up with my mom, Gigi Murfitt, to help me get the words on paper. To capture the main points of my message, she took notes during my speaking engagements. After each speech, we discussed what parts to share in my book. This process helped us gather all the stories that came up in each unique speaking engagement.

When someone else is writing most of your book, it can be hard to make sure your authentic voice is captured in dialogue and narrative. I’m twenty-one years old. I’m a guy. My mom is NOT twenty-one and she’s a woman. You get the picture. She doesn’t always speak my language.

To help us with this issue, we had a good friend, Cheryl Penn, interview me on audio asking many of the questions we wanted to answer in the book. Then Mom went to work to transcribe those audio bites which she used to help tell my story.

Once she got the chapters written, I read them over and let her know what parts to keep and what parts to cut. I decided what stories were dumped in the recycle bin. There were a few stories she wanted to keep but I had the last say. I’m really cool with the fact that she honored that.

I’m really thankful for the hard work my mom put into this book. She took classes, went to conferences and spent hours on the computer to get it right. It has been an exciting process to finally see the story come together in book form.

Just last week, we received the typeset copy and it was awesome to see it in print. I can’t wait to share it with the world as I follow God’s call to share about His work in my life. The letter “E” in my C.L.E.A.R. message is endurance. Let’s just say I’m practicing endurance while I wait for the final copy.

What’s your story? I believe every person has a story that should be told. Maybe it won’t be in a book. But I hope you will take the time to write down the times and seasons where you saw God at work in your life. I hope I get to read it someday too.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gabe Murfitt challenges his audience to live with courage in the face of life’s greatest adversities. Born with three-inch arms, Gabe reaches deep into the hearts of those who hear him speak. His story has been featured on The Oprah Winfrey Show, Good Morning America and other local stations. His book, My Message is C.L.E.A.R. will be published in early 2012 by WinePress Publishing. www.GabesHOPE.org

3 thoughts on “You Have a Story to Tell

  1. Pingback: NCWA February meeting recap: The call, the tools, and a C.L.E.A.R. message « Northwest Christian Writers Association

Leave a Reply

