Birds

NCWA welcomes Joe Bunting from The Write Practice in a series of writing prompts.

 This post contains excerpts from Joe’s e-book. See links following post to obtain the complete version.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some people spend hours and days watching birds. I imagine it sharpens their senses. Their eyes learn to pick out flashes of movement in the overwhelming green of the canopy. Their ears learn the distinct song of each bird.

I, however, am content to watch the field from my living room window, and if a bird flies through my view, so be it.

My instinct tells me birds feel like hope and joy and a oneness with nature that I’ve experienced only a few times. They are also synonymous with my soul.

And once, I wrote about a bird in a story and was shocked at how much the bird, my “character,” moved me.

The Prompt

Birds can add a touch of detail that lights up your writing with life. So why don’t you practice writing about birds? If it would help, go outside with a notebook and a pen and look for them. They’re everywhere.

As you describe them, think about what they communicate subconsciously.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpts and writing prompt from Joe Bunting’s e-book,

14 Prompts, available by clicking on the link.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Joe Bunting is the founder of  The Write Practice. He loves the sound of a good sentence and would like to think of himself as a literary snob but can be kept up far too late by a page turner meant for thirteen year old girls. He would like for you not to know that though. He and his wife, Talia, enjoy playing backgammon and Angry Birds on her iPhone. Click here to view his website.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.