Quoting the Scribes

A metaphor is like a simile. Author Unknown

I have made this letter longer, because I have not had the time to make it shorter. Blaise Pascal

I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them. Anne Rice

I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done. Steven Wright

The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe. Gustave Flaubert

The best time for planning a book is while you’re doing the dishes. Agatha Christie

The only reason for being a professional writer is that you can’t help it. Leo Rosten

There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are.

W. Somerset Maugham

There is creative reading as well as creative writing. Ralph Waldo Emerson

To send a letter is a good way to go somewhere without moving anything but your heart. Phyllis Theroux

Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own. Carol Burnett

Writing is a struggle against silence. Carlos Fuentes

Writing is the only profession where no one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money. Jules Renard

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you to WordPress.com for the quotes

Photo source: Google images

10 thoughts on “Quoting the Scribes

  1. One of my favorites is, “The first chapter sells this book, the last chapter sells the next book.” Don’t recall who said it but Stephen King mentioned it in his book, “On Writing.” Dennis “Doc” Hensley recommended the audio version. Stephen read it himself.

    Like

  2. I loved these quotes. As a new writer, they really resonated to me–making me laugh out loud at some. They inspire me to write, but since I don’t have time to blog about them right now, I can at least comment on the blog!

    And here’s a cute joke I read when I started wrting:
    First writer (at a cocktail party): “I’m working on my new novel.”
    2nd writer: “Neither am I.”
    Cartoon caption in Private Eye

    Like

  3. Pingback: Quotes About Writing « Write On! Publishing

  4. I’m reading “The Simple Faith of Mister Rogers” and love this quote which could be applied to writing:

    “I’m so convinced that the space between the television set and the viewer is holy ground, and what we put on the television can, by The Holy Spirit, be translated into what this person needs to hear and see and without that translation it’s all dross as far as I’m concerned.”

    Like

  5. Pingback: Quoting the Scribes « Write On! Publishing

  6. Pingback: Writing is the only profession where no one considers you ridiculous if you earn no money. Jules Renard | reflections of a writer

  7. Pingback: I’m writing a book. I’ve got the page numbers done. Steven Wright | I WIN

Leave a Reply

