A Dream That Came Alive by Jim Rubart

Jim Rubart will be speaking at NCWA’s September meeting. See end of post for links.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve wanted a dirt bike since I was five. Okay, maybe not five—it was more like three.

Growing up, I knew it wouldn’t ever happen.

No way.

Not while I lived with my parents. My mom was not a fan of the two-wheeled neck breakers. I was strictly forbidden from ever getting on a motorcycle. It was a non-negotiable.

(No, I won’t mention the time during high school I jumped on friend’s street bike and screamed past my mom who just happened to be traveling the same road going the opposite direction. Dinner was not fun that night. Nor breakfast the next morning, etc, etc.)

But four years ago I did something about that dream that kept flitting around my heart; I bought  dirt bikes for my boys and me.

We’ve all wiped out multiple times.

I’ve hurt myself—badly.

The bikes take work to maintain.

Is it worth it? Are you kidding? They’ve given us eternal memories that are gold. The first time Taylor and Micah rode out in front of me I couldn’t stop a massive grin from bursting out on my face. It was so fun. So freeing. So full of life.

It was just a small dream. To ride dirt bikes with

my sons. But it came true because I stopped putting it off and took action. And when Micah said it was the best gift I’d ever given Taylor and him, I smiled that big goofy grin again.

What’s yours? That little dream you’ve been meaning to do for years. That dream that won’t go away.

That dream that whispers to you just before you go to sleep.

Buy the bikes, write that novel, go on the trip, ask the girl out, start that restaurant … the Spirit put that desire in there for a reason, it might be time to set it free.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jim will be speaking at NCWA’s first meeting of the season: Monday, September 10th.  Click here for details.

This post first appeared on Jim’s blog, July 29, 2011. Used by kind permission.

James L. Rubart is the best-selling, award winning author of ROOMS, BOOK OF DAYS, THE CHAIR, and SOUL’S GATE (Nov 2012). He’s married with two sons, and loves to dirt bike, hikes, golf, take photos, and still thinks he’s young enough to water ski like a madman. More at www.james.rubart.com

2 thoughts on “A Dream That Came Alive by Jim Rubart

  1. I agree with your mom. But I also agree that your personality screams dirt bike! There is no such thing as a small dream. As you know, I have discovered that dreams come along at any time of life. It’s never too late to chase them. See you soon.
    Jan

    Like

  2. I love this post! I am trying to do that – chase a dream that has been in my heart for a long time. I like to think that it’s also something that God can use. Thanks for the encouragement!

    Like

Leave a Reply

