Build Me a Platform, Jesus by Cherrie Herrin-Michehl, MA, LMHC

NCWA’s Cherrie Herrin-Michehl ponders the platform dilemma.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Big P. I’ve heard truckloads of information about how to build a platform. Why can’t my husband just build me one? He manages projects for a remodeling company. My platform would be pink with purple rhinestones. But its greatest feature would be a secret compartment for chocolate.

Like you, I’ve read about platforms and heard several speakers discuss them. But, like many of you, I’ve got a Thanksgiving dinner on my plate. Running a business, managing health issues, tending to family and ministry responsibilities, and speaking wears me ragged if I’m not careful. I also need time to write.

I’ve thought of two ideas. One, I could run myself through a copy machine so the “other” me can carry half the responsibilities. But my tooshie would probably cause a paper jam. The second idea is to get myself a wife. But I am the wife, so I can forget that idea.

About a month ago, while putting something in my closet, I discovered the platform shoe bank pictured here. My sister gave it to me four years ago. She knew I was a shoe hound and bought it for me at a thrift store.

Now I’ve placed the bank on my bathroom counter to remind me to pray for a platform. I pray that if it is God’s will, He will build a platform for me so I can tell people about Him through my writing and speaking. I’m also praying for humility, because sometimes platforms lead to big-head disease!

But there’s one catch. I need to do my part, not just sit around and gorge myself on chocolate and watch chick flicks, expecting my husband or the Lord to build my platform. God wants me to apply the strategies I’ve learned through NCWA and work on my platform. I only wish it were as easy as purchasing a pair of platform shoes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Platform shoe photo by Mindy Peltier

Cherrie Herrin-Michehl, MA, LMHC, is a licensed therapist practicing in Woodinville, WA. A passionate writer and speaker, she is available for speaking engagements at conferences, church retreats, and seminars. Recently Cherrie spoke on three radio stations in the Seattle area, including KOMO 1000. She is represented by Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency. She has been an NCWA member since 2008. Visit her blogs,Tooshie: Defeating the Body Image Bandit at www.tooshieblog.com and Rhapsody en Route: the passion, the grace, the mercy, and the vision as we press toward the cross at www.cherriesotherblog.wordpress.com.

2 thoughts on “Build Me a Platform, Jesus by Cherrie Herrin-Michehl, MA, LMHC

  1. I loved your post. Clever, witty and oh, so true. I am struggling with the balance between self-promotion vs. being humble, building a platform vs. trusting God. There seems to be a fine line that is hard to walk. Glad to know I’m not alone in trying to figure this all out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

