Writing Isn’t for Wimps by Kim Vandel

Great encouragement from NCWA’s Kim Vandel.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kim Vandel photoI survived a writers’ conference this week. While there were some less-than-stellar moments that I’d love to erase from existence, the conference was a great experience overall, and I had the opportunity to pitch my book idea to three agents. (Mentally repeating YOLO the whole time. [“You Only Live Once”])

Writing is a perilous endeavor in so many ways. When you write, pieces of your soul bleed onto the page. You can’t help it. For those of us who blog or publish in some form, we take it one step farther and willingly open ourselves up to public rejection. It’s hard to not take rejection personally when you’re baring pieces of your soul.

Image courtesy of mrpuen at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of mrpuen atFreeDigitalPhotos.net

Facing rejection is hard enough, but writers need to risk more than just sharing our words. There are risks we need to take before we ever sit down to the computer or pick up a pen. Whether it’s fiction or non-fiction, writing is about life, and we can’t write about life if we’re not experiencing it.

Life is messy and unexpected. All too often it hurts, and I don’t like pain. I want to avoid it at all costs. But if I never take any chances, then I’m going to have a hard time writing about characters who find the strength to shine in the midst of life’s darkest moments. My writing will reek of insincerity, and that guarantees rejection.

I need to make sure I’m really living, not relying on my characters to live for me. I know I have to step away from the computer once in a while and push myself to move beyond what’s comfortable because I want to be a writer and writing isn’t for wimps.

©2013 Kim Vandel

For NCWA Renewal Conference details, click the button on right-hand sidebar of this page.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Kim Vandel wanted to be Princess Leia when she grew up, but she’s decided that being a writer is even better than leading a rebellion against the Empire. Her current project is a YA urban fantasy set in Washington state. It features plenty of coffee but no vampires. You can find her books reviews and more atkimvandel.com. Kim has been a member of NCWA since 2011.

Leave a Reply

